email us                                                                                              Follow us on Facebook:                                                                                                     Follow us on Twitter:


Officers of Arms

Her Majesty’s Officers of Arms

In addition to the Officers of the Lyon Court, viz. the Lord Lyon, Lyon Clerk, Lyon Macer and Procurator Fiscal, there are the Officers of Arms who are members of the Royal Household in Scotland. The Heralds and Pursuivants, known collectively as Her Majesty’s Officers of Arms, have rights of audience before the Lord Lyon allowing them to represent clients seeking arms. Their other duties are concerned with ceremonial events and they take no part in the day-to-day running of the Office but also carry out non-ceremonial duties, such as presiding over the election of a clan chief, at the Lyon’s discretion. Until the Act of 1867 there could be up to six Heralds and six Pursuivants in Ordinary at any one time, reduced by that Act to three of each. There are also Extraordinary Officers of Arms who may be appointed either for a specific event or for a longer period. The complement of Officers of Arms in Scotland at present is:

Dr. Joseph J. Morrow, CBE, QC, LLD, DL  Lord Lyon King of Arms

Sir Crispin Agnew of Lochnaw, Baronet, QC, Rothesay Herald of Arms

Elizabeth A. Roads, LVO, FSA, Snawdoun Herald of Arms

The Hon. Adam Bruce, WS, Marchmont Herald of Arms

Yvonne Holton, Dingwall Pursuivant of Arms

Liam Devlin, Esq., Unicorn Pursuivant of Arms

George Way of Plean, Carrick Pursuivant

John Stirling, Esq., WS, Linlithgow Pursuivant Extraordinary Roderick Macpherson Esq., Falkland Pursuivant Extraordinary Extraordinary Heralds Sir Malcolm Innes of Edingight, KCVO, WS, Orkney Herald Extraordinary Robin O. Blair, Esq., CVO, WS, Angus Herald Extraordinary W. David. H. Sellar, Esq., MVO, Islay Herald Extraordinary Mark D. Dennis, Esq., Ross Herald of Arms Extraordinary                                                                                l to r: Linlithgow, Unicorn, Dingwall, Rothesay, Duke of Hamilton,                                                                                                                           Lyon, Snawdoun, Marchmont, Falkland.